[Setup] Clear catalog before Plone upgrade, but when rebuild

Jochen Dekeyser jochen.dekeyser at gmail.com
Thu May 9 15:44:13 UTC 2013


I received this answer from ajung.

Jochen

ajung wrote
> Running the Plone migration is supposed to run on a consistent
> portal_catalog. Otherwise you may run into strange migration problems...
> -aj
> Jochen Dekeyser wrote
>> Hi,
>> 
>> At http://developer.plone.org/misc/upgrade.html, it says you should clear
>> your catalog before you move a plone site (=Data.fs) to a new
>> version/buildout. But when is the best time to "Clear and Rebuild" your
>> catalog in the new version/buildout?
>> 
>> Do you do:
>> Step 1: @@plone-upgrade
>> Step 2: Clear and Rebuild catalog
>> or:
>> Step 1: Clear and Rebuild catalog
>> Step 2: @@plone-upgrade
>> 
>> In other words, does "Clear and rebuild catalog" needs an updated plone
>> site (= run @@plone-upgrade before rebuild catalog), or
>> does @@plone-upgrade needs a valid catalog (= run rebuild catalog before
>> @@plone-upgrade)?
>> 
>> Maybe this should be added to the docs...
>> 
>> Jochen





--
View this message in context: http://plone.293351.n2.nabble.com/Clear-catalog-before-Plone-upgrade-but-when-rebuild-tp7564811p7565038.html
Sent from the Installation, Setup, Upgrades mailing list archive at Nabble.com.


More information about the Setup mailing list