[Setup] Re: View permission lost after migration to 2.5

Alexander Limi limi at plone.org
Thu Jun 21 20:43:02 UTC 2007


On Thu, 21 Jun 2007 06:26:42 -0700, Ed Eddington  
<ed at internethut.com> wrote:

> This problem may be related to workflow. The _View_Permission that is
> reset during migration appears to be set to the object's published
> workflow state. However, in our case, we have a workflow script that
> is supposed to run before/after the publish transition to preserve the
> _View_Permission. Can anyone clarify what workflow related updates are
> done during a migration (are objects "published", or "retracted and
> republished", etc.)? It appears as if _View_Permission is simply being
> reset to the permissions defined in the workflow state - WITHOUT
> running the transition scripts.

This is how workflows work. Never set permissions manually outside of  
workflow states. They will be reset to what the state specifies.

(unless I misunderstood what you're explaining above)

-- 
Alexander Limi · http://limi.net




More information about the Setup mailing list